Photo Credit: Global Diaspora News (www.GlobalDiasporaNews.com).

Join us for a clergy update and engaging conversation with REP. SHEILA JACKSON LEE (D-TX), chief sponsor of H.R.40.

This bill establishes the Commission to Study and Develop Reparation Proposals for African-Americans. The commission shall examine slavery and discrimination in the colonies and the United States from 1619 to the present and recommend appropriate remedies. Among other requirements, the commission shall identify (1) the role of federal and state governments in supporting the institution of slavery, (2) forms of discrimination in public and private sectors against freed slaves and their descendants, and (3) lingering negative effects of slavery on living African-Americans and society.
(src. https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/house-bill/40/)

This event is sponsored by the National African American Reparations Commission, the Samuel DeWitt Proctor Conference, the Black Church PAC, and the National Council of Churches.

8:00pm Eastern, 7:00pm Central, 5:00pm Pacific

Jul 30, 2020 07:00 PM in Central Time (US and Canada)

Register Now

Source of original article: The Institute of the Black World 21st Century (ibw21.org).
The content of this article does not necessarily reflect the views or opinion of Global Diaspora News (www.GlobalDiasporaNews.com).

To submit your press release: (https://www.GlobalDiasporaNews.com/pr).

To advertise on Global Diaspora News: (www.GlobalDiasporaNews.com/ads).

Sign up to Global Diaspora News newsletter (https://www.GlobalDiasporaNews.com/newsletter/) to start receiving updates and opportunities directly in your email inbox for free.